Andy Murray for British Sports Personality 2013

December 14, 2013, 10:50 AM GMT+0

Ahead of tonight’s vote for the BBC Sports Personality of the Year award, YouGov research reveals a clear favourite: Andy Murray

Tonight is the 60th BBC Sports Personality of the Year awards, aired on BBC One at 7:40pm and presented by Gary Liniker, Clare Balding and Gabby Logan. After a long and difficult process of deliberation, the judges have decided on a ten person shortlist. But now it is up to the public to choose the winner, by voting on the phone or - for the first time - online.

Ahead of the vote during the show, a YouGov survey for the Sunday Times reveals a solid favourite and runner up, but the rest are far behind.

After ending the 77-year wait for a British Wimbledon men’s singles winner, the public have, until tonight at least, chosen a favourite: Andy Murray, with 39% saying they would most like to see him win, excluding those who don’t know (28%).

Not too far behind is 5000 and 10,000 metres gold Olympic medallist Mo Farah, with a quarter (25%) of the public saying they'd most like to see him win.

After those two, however, the rest are far behind. America’s Cup sailing victor Ben Ainslie is chosen by 8%, as is horse racing legend AP McCoy who rode his 4000th winner in November. No one else has more than 5% support.

Last year’s winner was Bradley Wiggins, after his historic victory in the Tour de France and a gold medal Olympic time trial victory just 10 days after. He received 32% of the vote, with 1,626,718 votes cast. Andy Murray came third with 14% of the vote, after Olympic heptathlon champion Jessica Ennis who was voted for by 23% of the public.

See the full poll results

Join YouGov today! Your views can shape the news…