WhatsApp rolls out privacy update again

New Ideas in MarketingEssential news for marketers, summarised by YouGov
May 12, 2021, 4:45 AM UTC

Users on the platform are being notified about the upcoming update with new in-app alerts.

The latest WhatsApp privacy update is being rolled out again gradually after the initial launch was reversed following heavy backlash from users. The update concerns WhatsApp sharing user data with select businesses within the app for advertising and to support Facebook’s messaging ecommerce plans.

WhatsApp states it won’t delete any user accounts for not accepting the update, neither will it share any users’ personal information with Facebook. But, those who don’t accept the update will experience limited functionality, including inability to access the chat list and the stoppage of incoming calls, eventually.

After a while, all calls and messages for the device will be halted. While the penalty for not complying could reignite the backlash, WhatsApp hopes that users pick the convenience of having contacts on one app.

Read the original article

[3 minute read]