Archived group stories will remain viewable, but users will not be able to re-share.
Facebook will be phasing out its “Group Stories” feature, through which group members can post single or collaborative stories within that group. The change is set to occur on 26 September, upon which, no new Group Stories can be posted. The existing Group Stories will also be removed.
Facebook stated that members and admins will still be able to use stories from their private account or post in the group. Users will be able to view archived Group Stories, but the posts will not be available to re-share.
The article states that, overall, the use of Stories is rising. Group stories is a feature which is vulnerable to potential issues, particularly without active moderation.
[4 minute read]